Foundation welcomes new officers and trustees

Blue Ridge Parkway Foundation Board Chairs 2.jpg

Jack Betts is honored for his role as the Chair of the Board of Trustees Jack Betts is honored for his role as the Chair of the Board of Trustees
April 14, 2018

We are pleased to announce the election of six new members and a new slate of officers to serve on our board of trustees.

At the Foundation’s board meeting in November 2017, Cynthia Evans Tessien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, was elected chair of the board of trustees, taking over for Jack Betts. Betts will continue to serve on the board as past chair. Alfred G. Adams, also of Winston-Salem, was appointed vice chair, while Rebecca Reeve (Asheville, N.C.) and Craig Lancaster (Fletcher, N.C.) were appointed as secretary and treasurer, respectively.

Additional trustees elected include Billie Brandon Howell (Boone, N.C.), Jim McDowell (Blowing Rock, N.C.), Jim Newlin (Meadows of Dan, V.A.), Brad Wilson (Raleigh, N.C.), and Jennifer Zuckerman (Durham, N.C.).

With diverse backgrounds, these individuals bring a wealth of experience and expertise to help guide the organization into the future. 

Board of Trustees

Cynthia Evans Tessien, Chair
Alfred G. Adams, Vice Chair
Rebecca Reeve, Secretary
Craig Lancaster, Treasurer
Jack Betts 
Paul Bonesteel
Peter Givens
Billie Brandon Howell
Jim McDowell
John Mitchell
Jim Newlin
Jerry Starnes
Brad Wilson
Jennifer Zuckerman

Board of Advisors

Becky Anderson
Anne Barnes
W. Louis Bissette Jr.
Philip Blumenthal
Greg Brown
Hobie Cawood
Bob Clark
Pat Shore Clark
Heather Cotton
JoAnn Davis
Dan Donahue
Harvey Durham
Joe Epley
Broaddus Fitzpatrick
Charles Higgins
Sean Higgins
Michael Hobbs
David Holt
Raymond Hornak
Olson Huff
Cecil Jackson
George Kegley
Phil Noblitt
Bob Shepherd
Gary Stewart
Kent Tarbutton
Dan Wells
Dr. Anne Whisnant
Richard T. “Stick” Williams