Foundation honors Abbott-Everhardt Society members on 25th anniversary

Photo by Kaitlin Trimboli


Rachel Stasny, Marielle DeJong, Cabell Brand, and David Huff pause for a picture. Rachel Stasny, Marielle DeJong, Cabell Brand, and David Huff pause for a picture.
December 8, 2022

We were thrilled to celebrate our 25th anniversary with a special event on Thursday, Nov. 17, at Highland Brewing Company. More than 100 guests attended to mark the nonprofit’s years of support for projects and programs that enhance the country’s most visited national park. 

The event also honored the leaders who have guided the organization since its start in 1997. Past chairs of the board of trustees were inducted into the newly created Abbott-Everhardt Society, named for the Parkway’s original landscape architect, Stanley Abbott, and late Director of the National Park Service and Parkway Superintendent, Gary Everhardt. 

The society’s members are W. Louis Bissette Jr. and Bob Shepherd of Asheville; Houck Medford of Blowing Rock; Greg Brown of Fairview; Gary Stewart of Matthews; Ken Wilson of Waynesville; Harvey Durham of Boone;  Alfred Adams, Pat Shore Clark, Linda Combs, Hobie Cawood, and Cynthia Tessien of Winston-Salem; Jack Betts of Meadows of Dan, Va.; Broaddus Fitzpatrick of Roanoke, Va.; and current chair John Mitchell of Hendersonville.

“It was so wonderful to join in celebration with our supporters and champions for the Parkway. Hundreds of projects were made possible over the last 25 years because of the dedication of our community. We look forward to the legacy impacts to come over the next 25 years,” said Carolyn Ward, CEO of the Foundation. 

Parkway Superintendent Tracy Swartout also addressed the guests, who enjoyed live music from John Herrmann & Friends, a special Anniversary Ale by Highland Brewing Company, and hors d’oeuvres. 

First Citizens Bank is the premier sponsor of the Foundation’s 25th anniversary events. Forever Mountain sponsored the Asheville celebration. 

Photos by Kaitlin Trimboli Photography